MAG honors four legislators with 'Friend of Medicine' award

Join us!

The Medical Association of Georgia (MAG) has honored four state legislators with its ‘1849 Friend of Medicine Award’ to recognize them for their efforts during the General Assembly in 2016. This includes…

— Rep. Sharon Cooper (R-Marietta), the chair of the House Health & Human Services Committee (HHS), who introduced H.B. 900 – which will enhance Georgia’s Prescription Drug Monitoring Program.

— Sen. P. K. Martin IV (R-Lawrenceville), who was a leading advocate for the health insurer ‘Provider Directory’ bill (S.B. 302) that passed in 2016.

— Sen. Dean Burke, M.D. (R-Bainbridge), a member of the Senate HHS who played a key role in getting the health insurer ‘Rental Networks’ bill (S.B. 158) passed in 2016.

— Rep. Rick Jasperse (R-Jasper), a member of the House HHS and another leading advocate for S.B. 158.

"We applaud these legislators for being genuine advocates for patients and physicians in Georgia, " says MAG President Steven M. Walsh, M.D. “The state’s health care system is in a far better place as a result of their efforts.”

Dr. Walsh also believes that, "These are the kinds of leaders we need to ensure that Georgians continue to have access to some of the best medical care in the world – regardless of practice setting or specialty or locale. It’s no wonder that these four lawmakers have developed such a great reputation within the physician community in the state.”

Finally, Dr. Walsh notes that MAG's priorities for the 2017 legislative session will include addressing the adequacy of health insurance networks in the state; continuing to make sure payments for primary care physicians who serve the Medicaid population are on par with Medicare; reducing the burden that is associated with the maintenance of certification licensure process for physicians; supporting measures that will improve patient safety; and exploring ways to address the health insurance “coverage gap” in Georgia.