American Medical Association


Donald J. Palmisano Jr.


Join us!

AMA Annual Meeting

The AMA House of Delegates, also known as the “House” or the “HOD,” is the principal policy-making body of the AMA. This democratic forum represents the views and interests of a diverse group of member physicians from more than 170 societies. These delegates meet twice per year to establish policy on health, medical, professional and governance matters, as well as the principles within which the AMA’s business activities are conducted.

The 2017 Annual Meeting of the AMA House of Delegates (HOD) will meet June 10-14, 2017  at the Hyatt Regency Chicago in Chicago, Illinois.

Preliminary Schedule

Saturday, June 10

2:00 p.m. – 6:00 p.m.                  
•    House of Delegates opening session
      Grand Ballroom                          
•    Rules of order, speeches, nominations, other presentations

Sunday, June 11

8:00 a.m. – 8:30 a.m.
•    House of Delegates second opening session
      Grand Ballroom                   
•    Business - introduction of reports and resolutions, extraction of informational reports, supplementary report of Committee on Rules & Credentials

8:30 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.     
•    Reference committee hearings
      Location TBD                                       

Monday, June 12

2:00 p.m. – 6:00 p.m.                  
•    House of Delegates business session
      Grand Ballroom                        

Tuesday, June 13

7:30 a.m. – 8:45 a.m.        
•    Elections

9:00 a.m. – 3:00 p.m.          
•    House of Delegates business session
      Grand Ballroom                            

5:00 p.m.                        
•    Inauguration of David O. Barbe, M.D.
      Crystal Ballroom                            

6:30 p.m.                   
•    Inaugural reception and dinner dance
      Grand Ballroom                            

Wednesday, June 14

8:00 a.m. – noon            
•    House of Delegates business session
      Grand Ballroom

Georgia Delegation


  • S. William Clark III, M.D.
  • Sandra B. Reed, M.D.
    Vice Chair
  • Joy A. Maxey, M.D.
  • Vacant
  • Michael E. Greene, M.D.

 Alternate Delegates

  • John S. Antalis, M.D.
  • Jack M. Chapman Jr., M.D.
  • John A. Goldman, M.D., Atlanta
  • Billie Luke Jackson, M.D.
  • Gary C. Richter, M.D.